top of page

Kid Connections


The word is getting out! I told my 3rd period Social Science class about my country and they were completely surprised! Some couldn’t find India on a world map, others only have knowledge of India based on the “Ancient India” unit they did in 6th grade. I have two Indian students in that class (one was born there and is a 2nd year ELL student and the other was born here, but visited relatives there last summer) and they had very different opinions on going there as an obviously Midwestern woman.

Riya, who visited India last summer, seemed horrified and repeated “You are going to hate it!” over and over. Syed, who moved here with his family in 2013, told her that she was crazy and “didn’t go the right places” if she really didn’t like it. Hmm.

We are beginning a study on Asia in our Social Science class, so we will be able to have more specific discussions and targets based on the region once I find out!

At lunch, three of my 8th grade ELL students came to my room to congratulate me on going to their beloved country. Krish, who is a 1st year ELL student, rushed through the door, saying “Ma’am, are you really going? Are you going? Is Dixant being truthful?” with Dixant and Ashish trailing behind him, huge grins on their faces. I knew instantly that everything would be OK.


bottom of page